Noodles are an unforgiving medium: If I could write good love poems

You’d have more poems to read.
They’d be mushy and trite,
but they’d at least be sweet.
You’d never have to ask
about the words I’d write.
But my poems would be masks
I’d hide beneath the lines.

I’d write about your hair
without noting color.
syllables counted and
boring words like “perfect”
make bouquets of flowers.
Still, I’m sure you’d love it,
so would all the others.

So I’ll write to you in my off verse
with metaphors that don’t make sense
and lines about old memories.
You’ll have to ask me what I meant
So I’ll explain awkwardly,
…….. without rhyme scheme
…….. or stanza length…
And you’ll say it’s lovely
even if it’s not what you think

I love it when you smile like a mother
at my shitty macaroni art

2 thoughts on “Noodles are an unforgiving medium: If I could write good love poems”

Leave a Reply

